How scientific is the :-) ? #science #meta #:-)

Last week  a wrote some final comments to submissions for „Innoqual“ where I am, together with Grainne Conole and Anne-Cristin Tannhäuser, responsible for the next issue. And within a „practice-based“ submission I found the following.

Bildschirmfoto 2014-05-23 um 22.23.40

The comment is part of the „commentathon“ – everybody was free to comment – this part of the „open review“ to a parallel traditional review. And yes, for me it is also questionable if a🙂 is scientific.

It was not the first time to find a smiley in a more or less scientific contribution (btw. the contribution in our case was for the „practice-based part“ and is not a traditional scientific text). And I also used a🙂 in of my latest publications.

But to proof the scientificness of the🙂 there should be a🙂 in at least some titles of a scientific contribution. (At least, this is my approach :D)

And I remember that Martin Ebner already had some strange things in a paper title („@twitter analysis of #edmedia10– is the #informationstream usable for the #mass“ see here). But I just checked: He never used a🙂 in a title.

But is there a scientific paper with an emoticon in the title? What does Google Scholar say? Do scientist started to smile in titles?

Bildschirmfoto 2014-05-23 um 23.51.30

Hm. I guess, not.  –🙂 are not (very) scientific by now😀

 

3 Antworten

  1. „In einem Rhizom gibt es keine Punkte oder Positionen wie etwa in einer Struktur, einem Baum oder einer Wurzel. Es gibt nichts als Linien.“ (S.14)
    Rhizom
    Gilles Deleuze, Felix Guattari
    http://www.amazon.de/dp/3920986830

  2. oooops. A smart facebook friend (Hannes Rothe) send me a note that Google does not support searches for „:-)“ or even „“:-)““ . You are not able to look for the signs neither in google.com nor scholar.google.com. If someone wants to use traditional possibility to look for „:-)“ in scientific titles, just do it! My approach was a very lousy one. An not very scientific, too. (Nevertheless, I smile🙂 )

  3. I also read the article during the commenthaton and was confused by the whole article. Maybe I didn’t get the scope of practice-based submission (I expected something like a case study), it was nicely written but more suitable for a blogpost that at least for a scientific journal. And thus smilies are ok and sometimes very useful in blogposts — or comments🙂. But in a journal article? Maybe we are not yet used to it but if there is humor in research, I would not expect it in a journal article. Or just between the lines.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

